Strategies for building awareness for the potential of peace education in Cameroon Ben Oru Mforndip
Special Report
Has Democracy Enhanced Development in Africa? Conrad John Masabo
Permanent Emergency Powers in France: The ‘Law to Strengthen Internal Security and the Fight Against Terrorism’ and the Protection of Human Rights Lena Muhs
Women’s Political Representation in Sri Lanka: Leading towards Prosperity or Peril Pujika Rathnayake
Lack of empathy as a threat to peace Victoria Scheyer
Comment II
The death of democracy in Honduras Daniel Bagheri S.
Berta Vive Daniel Bagheri Sarvestani
The Persons Who Changed the Lives of Terrorists and Criminals Surya Nath Prasad

Teaching Peace from Tales of the City: Peace Education through the Memoryscapes of Nagasaki Patporn Phoothong
Special Report
Reflections of Refugees in Africa Wyclife Ong'eta Mose
Challenges and prospects of AU to implement the Ezulwini Consensus: The case of collective security and the use of force Tunamsifu Shirambere Philippe
The Right to Food Shant Melkonian
Freedom of Expression Under Threat in Zambia Mariateresa Garrido
Douglas Janoff on LGBTQIA Human Rights Luciana Téllez
Common Things: Communication, Community, Communal Peacebuilding Lina Patricia Forero Martínez
The political Crisis of the 2017 Honduran Election Daniel Bagheri S.
Research Summary
Water Security in the Sixaola River Basin Adrián Martinez Blanco and Diana Ubico Durán
Reborn Arunima Chouguley
An Open Letter to the American People: Political Responsibility in the Nuclear Age Richard Falk, David Krieger, and Robert Laney


UN News
Last Updated: 10/18/2007
Five non-permanent Security Council members elected for seats starting next year
UN News Service

16 October 2007 The General Assembly today elected Burkina Faso, Costa Rica, Croatia, Libya and Viet Nam to serve as non-permanent members of the Security Council for two-year terms starting 1 January 2008.

Burkina Faso, Libya and Viet Nam were chosen after one round of balloting this morning but Costa Rica and Croatia needed three rounds to achieve the necessary two-thirds majority of those present and voting for the seats, which are allocated along geographical lines.

The newly elected countries will replace Congo, Ghana, Peru, Qatar and Slovakia when their terms on the 15-member body expire at the end of this year.

The terms will mark the Council debut for both Viet Nam and Croatia, while it will be the second occasion for Burkina Faso (previously served in 1984-85) and Libya (1976-77) and the third stint for Costa Rica (1974-75 and 1997-98).

Announcing the results of the first round in the African and Asian category, where three seats were available this year, General Assembly President Srgjan Kerim said Burkina Faso had received 185 votes out of a possible 190, while Viet Nam picked up 183 and Libya received 178.

The three countries were the only declared candidates for the region. Mauritania picked up two votes, Senegal received one and there were no abstentions.

In the Eastern European category, where 124 votes were needed for victory in the third round of balloting, Croatia received 184 and Czech Republic – which withdrew its declared candidacy after two rounds – picked up one. There were four abstentions.

In the Latin American and Caribbean grouping, where 120 votes were needed to win in the third round, Costa Rica obtained 179 out of a possible 189 and the Dominican Republic – which had also just withdrawn its formal candidacy – received one. There were nine abstentions.

The members were elected according to an agreed geographic allocation, which awards three seats to African and Asian countries, one to Eastern European States, and one to the Latin American and Caribbean region during this year’s round of elections.

Council elections are held by secret ballot in the General Assembly, and a winning candidate requires a two-thirds majority of ballots of members present and voting. Formal balloting takes place even in those regions where there is only one candidate per available seat.

The Council’s five other non-permanent members, whose terms end on 31 December 2008, are Belgium, Indonesia, Italy, Panama and South Africa. The five permanent members are China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States.